Hoff earns international honor

Apr 23, 2007

The Society of Automotive Engineers presented the McFarland Award to Dr. Craig Hoff for his outstanding commitment to life-long learning and continuing education April 17. Alumni Don Ableson '59 and Donna Mosher '94 also received top awards.

Kettering University had a place on the red carpet during the Society of Automotive Engineer's International Awards Ceremony April 17 in Detroit's Renaissance Center. One professor and several alumni took top honors during the international ceremony that pays tribute to outstanding engineers for their exceptional accomplishments and contributions to the mobility industry.

Dr. Craig Hoff, professor of Mechanical Engineering, received the Forest R. McFarland Award. He was recognized for his contributions to the Continuing Professional Development Group and for his commitment to life-long learning and continuing education. Hoff has spent 25 years in Engineering education, in both teaching and administrative roles. At Kettering, his specialties include thermal design, mechanical design and automotive engineering with research focused on fuel cell and hybrid electric vehicles.

He co-advises the SAE student section and Formula SAE team. The McFarland Award recognizes outstanding contributions in planning, development, and the dissemination and interchange of technical information.

Other Kettering/GMI honorees at the April 17 ceremony included:

2007 SAE Fellow: Donald W. Ableson '59
Ableson is the retired executive director, Specialty Vehicle Activity for the General Motors Corp. He was honored for his long and exemplary career in GM's Project Engineering, Facilities Engineering, and Plant Management organizations. Ableson's leadership helped create innovative products, significant new processes, and modern production plants. He has been the recipient of several other honors and awards, such as the SAE Medal of Honor in 2006, a Leadership Award from Kettering University in 1999, and an Outstanding Alumni Award in 1994. He is currently president of the SAE Foundation Canada. His leadership for SAE has been so outstanding, the SAE Foundation created the Ableson Award for Visionary Leadership. Ableson was president of SAE International in 1999 and has served on many SAE boards and committees throughout his many years of SAE International affiliation.

2007 Edward N. Cole Distinguished Younger Member Award: Donna M. Mosher '94
Mosher is the lead product engineer for Eaton Corp. She received the award for her many years of dedicated service with the Western Michigan section of SAE. She has been an SAE member for 13 years and has been on the SAE Western Michigan Governing Board since 2000. She served as a section chairman in 2004 and has been active in promoting SAE as a company representative for Eaton Corporation's Truck Components Division in Galesburg, Mich. Mosher has provided significant engineering contributions in Diesel Fuel Systems and Truck Powertrain Systems. She has received two patent awards for diesel fuel injection. She has both bachelor's and master's degrees from Kettering/GMI.

These accomplishments and others were also recognized during Kettering's annual SAE reception at the Detroit Athletic Club on April 18.

Written by Pat Mroczek
(810) 762-9533